Alberta area codes and prefixes

List of Alberta area codes

Alberta is right now utilizing four area codes. Alberta has had two zone code parts and two region code overlay designs, frequently called an overlay complex.

Zone code 403 initially secured Alberta as well as Yukon and parts of the Northwest Territories. In 1997 region code 403 was part, alongside territory code 819, to shape region code 867 which covers Yukon, Northwest Territories and Nunavut. In 1999 territory code 403 was part again to shape zone code 780. In 2008 territory code 587 was put into benefit as a zone code overlay of zone codes 403 and 780. In 2016 zone code 825 was put into benefit as an overlay of region codes 403, 780, and 587.

Today territory code 403 spreads the southern parts of Alberta including Calgary, Airdrie, Banff, Brooks, Canmore, Claresholm, Crowsnest Pass, High River, Medicine Hat, Olds, Lethbridge, Red Deer, Rocky Mountain House and Strathmore. Zone code 780 spreads the northern segments of Alberta including Edmonton, Bonnyville, Camrose, Drayton Valley, Fort McMurray, Fort Saskatchewan, Grande Prairie, Jasper, Lloydminster (Alberta divide), Peace River, Saint Albert, Sherwood Park, and Wetaskiwin. Zone codes 587 and 825 overlay the whole region.

Changes and History of Alberta Area Codes:


Region code 403 was put into benefit.


Zone code 403, alongside region code 819, was part to frame region code 867 which serves Nunavut, Northwest Territories and Yukon.


Zone code 780 was put into benefit. Region code 780 was made from a part of region code 403.


Territory code 587 was put into benefit. Territory code 587 is an overlay of region codes 403 and 780.


Territory code 825 was put into benefit. Territory code 825 in as an overlay of region codes 403, 780, and 587.